Fear Is A Lie

What is your biggest fear in life?

Is it not finding the spouse of your dreams; is it that you will never get out of debt; is it that you will never land your dream job; is it that your life will never amount to much?  To the world, those are legitimate fears and to be frank many Christians have these same fears.

Fear, like the ones I just listed, all have at least two facts in common.  The first is that these fears were very real in my life.  For many years, I would focus on these fears and never saw a way for my life to be fulfilling and full of joy.

My fears sentenced me to a life of depression and disappointment.

So far, some of the hardest trials I have had in my adult life have happened in the last 5 years.  My mistakes brought on the trials I have faced in the last 5 years.

John 10:10 Jesus says “the thief does not come except to steal, and to kill and to destroy.  I come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.”

There are many Christians that are not in a life of abundance, but rather they live in a fear of worry and without hope.  I have seen it repeatedly, people start going to church or praying when tragedy hits and there train of thought is that by doing the “steps” God will intervene and provide their need.

I speak from experience, over the years I would use my prayers and church attendance as a way to activate Gods favor and grace in my life.  I treated God as a genie and when trials came, I would rub the lamp so to speak.  The problem was is that I was “wishing” for something that I already had attained, because grace and favor were given to me as soon as I accepted Christ.

The second fact about fear is that, we create them.  We are born with only two natural fears.  The fear of falling and the fear of loud noises.

In 2 Timothy 1:7, Timothy assures us that “God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind”.

The devil is going to try and use the brokenness of this world to deceive you into thinking that there is no hope and you are destined to live a life of just enough and worry.  If the enemy can take you off the path that God has for you then, he will less likely have to worry about you later in life.  He will try to disqualify you through shame and guilt.

Maybe you have thought that because of your past there is no way God could use you or you will never be able to attain the desires of your heart.

My response is in the Bible; Jesus came to give us life and life more abundantly, without exception.  Look at the men that God used in mighty ways.  Noah was a drunk, Gideon was a coward, David was a murderer and adulterer, Paul was a murderer, Thomas was a doubter, Moses lacked confidence because of a speech impediment.  Each one of those men could have allowed fear to disqualify them but they built up their faith and trusted God and despite their fears and mistakes, God used them to further His purpose.

Fear can be manifested so that we become debilitated, not allowing us to fulfill our purpose in life.

We are not to just live a mediocre life, but a life of so much more and God has given us every tool and advantage to achieve a life full of joy and excitement.

All you have to do is change your mindset.  Seek Gods word and find the promise that contradicts the worldly trial you are facing, and then stand on that promise.  The promises of God are in the present-tense meaning we already have them, all we have to do is receive them.  My pastor described this as putting a demand on the promises of God.  Putting a demand on the promises of God is equivalent to having a ten-dollar bill.  The bill is legal tender and is a “demand note” to purchase a product.  The currency of the world is money, but the currency of God’s Kingdom is faith.  As Christians, we have to start building up our net-worth of faith.  When our faith is built up and strong, then when trials come, we are not knocked down.

Romans 12:2 implores us to “not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.”

I have heard this reference used to argue about dress, music, and church worship styles.  Well I have another more logical argument.  The world’s way of dealing with trials or tragedy is to stress, worry, and fear.

I implore you to refer to Paul’s words and do not conform to worry or stress and be transformed by renewing your mind on the promises of God.

God’s promises will not return void, He will give you the desires of your heart, seek Him daily, and be thankful for the present blessings in your life and the blessings to come.

I want to leave you with some great news.  Psalms 115:11 David informs us “You, who fear the LORD, trust in the LORD, He is their help and their shield”.  Fearing God is not fear in the terrified sense but as a loving child fears his loving father.  Fathers protect their children, they help their children, and they provide for their children.  If imperfect men, can accomplish this task, how much more will God in Heaven accomplish these tasks in your life.

I will leave you with one last thought based on what Peter wrote in 2 Peter 1:3-4. Peter writes, “As His divine power has given to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by glory and virtue, by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that in the world through lust.”  God has given you a life of virtue, hope, and great and precious promises in the life.  God will always deliver on His word and promises for all of those who have made Jesus the Lord of your life and remember that the hard parts and trials of this life are the closest you will ever experience Hell.

If you are reading this and have never made Jesus Christ the Lord of your life I would love to pray with you and help you to start living a life that is full of hope, love, and peace.

If you are looking for applicable ways to stand in faith concerning your finances, I urge you to check out my friend Travis Peter’s website www.faithlifemoney.org.

If you have, any questions leave me a comment or email me.

LOVE YOU GUYS,

Shawn Bordges #choosejoy

IMG_1980

