So couple of months ago, My eyes were opened and I did not like what I saw. I had a moment of self realization while getting ready one morning, to be specific it was while I was brushing my teeth. I looked in the mirror and this feeling of disappointment mixed in with a little dash of disgust came over me like a tidal wave.

So before you start to think that this was me body shaming myself, let me explain why what I saw in the mirror was so disappointing.

Have you ever seen a tree that is dead, but still has thick branches and a good amount of leaves on it? If you didn’t know better you would think that the tree was alive and maybe just needed a little water. The tree is dead on the inside and slowly the outward appearance will reflect what is happening on the the inside.

When I looked in the mirror I saw that my outward appearance was reflecting what was on the inside. I became stagnant and complacent in my spiritual life. I believed in the lies the enemy was telling me on a daily basis. This caused resentment  toward others including leaders at my church and even my Pastor.

You might be asking yourself, Shawn, what does this have to do with DISCIPLINE?

I believe discipline breeds discipline no matter how small the task may be. I would challenge you to test my theory. I challenge you to make your bed before you leave throw pillows and all (if you have them).

While I was in basic training, many acts of discipline were instilled in to us. We were disciplined in the importance of being in shape physically and mentally. If you were not physically healthy then you were going to be a burden in times of battle, the same goes for mental health.

During my time in the military the the biggest i ever got was 208, this was right before I left for Iraq. I remember seeing that number and hating it. I came back from Iraq at 178, the best workout regimen was carrying around and extra 60lbs in a desert setting. Then on your downtime you workout, because there is nothing else to do.

Fast-forward to a couple of months ago I looked in the mirror and then stepped on the scale, low and behold the number that popped up said 230. 

I allowed myself to foster a life of laziness physically and spiritually, causing me to be literally soft. Spiritually I was easily offended and grew a distrust in the plan and call God has for my life and believed that the desires of my heart were futile. Physically, well I was soft, out of breath and weak, plus I blew out three pairs of jeans.

God is so amazing and cares about us more than we could ever comprehend. 

I asked God to open my eyes and show me His love and for the Holy Spirit to give me wisdom to change who I had become spiritually. My heart wanted a deeper relationship with God, but my flesh wanted a life of comfort.

God used that moment of self reflection, knowing full well that it would grab my attention and cause me to react in a radical fashion. The first thing I did was cut out sugar, dairy, and bread from my diet. I started too workout 5-6 days a week, including a mixture of cardio weights, and even yoga. This regimen of discipline led to more discipline in my spiritual life. My prayer life is back to everyday acknowledging Gods promise in my life and realizing the Favor I walk in. My time with God in His word and sitting under the preaching of His Word is so fulfilling, with every moment with God I am reassured of the amazing future I have before me.

We are all presented with opportunities to doubt, concerning the desires of our heart.  The enemy will never stop trying to get you to doubt and sometimes, like me you will doubt, but the amazing love of God will never withhold a good thing from you. All we have to to do is just get back up dust our selves off and move forward never looking back.

If you are struggling with being discipline in an area of your life. I challenge you to start with something small, make your bed everyday, let that be the very first thing you accomplish for the day. Secondly, ask God for revelation and the Holy Spirit for strength to develop this discipline.

One of the greatest benefits of being a Christian is that in our weakness, Gods strength is revealed. We do not have to carry any burden so stop trying and allow God to carry it. 

If you have any questions, comments or prayer requests please feel free to post them. Thank you for taking the time to read this post. God Bless.

◊Shawn Bordges                                                                                                                      

 

 

 

